It should have been an easy upgrade…  Dynamics GP 9.0 to GP 11.0, but I needed to get 9.0 to latest Service Pack to run the GP 11 (2010) upgrade.  It would not install, so I turned off DEP, turned off UAC, it still failed.  I even pulled out my bag of tricks, copied the server-side folder to a workstation replacing the existing GP (after zipping the original folder).  It updated the application, but there was nothing in Utilities to allow me to update the databases.

Since Microsoft no longer supports GP 9.0, KB searches came up empty, but in researching, I came across a Blog entry referring to updating .NET 1.1 Framework to SP1 and also referenced a non-existent KB.  I downloaded and updated .NET to SP1, accepting the warning that it had compatibility issues with Server 2008, and it completed the framework install successfully.  I re-launched the GP 9 MSP, and IT RAN!

Hopefully this helps others in this situation.

